Editorial Office

Stephanie Hawkins, Editor

Stephanie Hawkins

Stephanie Hawkins, an associate professor in the department of English at the University of North Texas, began her tenure as editor of Studies in the Novel in January 2013. The author of American Iconographic: National Geographic, Global Culture, and the Visual Imagination (University of Virginia Press, 2010), her scholarly work focuses on the interface between public attitudes, literary and visual representation, and institutional rhetorics. Her essays on American modernism have appeared in Modern Fiction Studies, The Henry James Review, Arizona Quarterly, and Texas Studies in Literature and Language. More recently, Dr. Hawkins’s research interests have expanded to include neuroscience, religious experience, and the psychology of public opinion. Her current book project, provisionally titled The Manufacture of Dissent: American Modernism, Cognition, and the Politics of Conversion, concerns the manufacture of public opinion and its relation to literary aesthetics. She has published articles drawn from this project in the scientific journal Frontiers in Fractal Physiology and in the essay collection Brain, Mind and Consciousness in the History of Neuroscience (Springer, 2014). Dr. Hawkins earned her Ph.D. from SUNY-Buffalo and her M.A. from Wake Forest University. She hails from Carson City, Nevada, and studied journalism and English at the University of Nevada, Reno. 

Timothy Boswell, Managing Editor

Timothy BoswellTim Boswell has been managing editor at Studies in the Novel since June 2012, and in 2014 he earned university-wide recognition for his work at the journal. He previously served as managing editor at American Literary Review. Dr. Boswell also works as a book editor and ghostwriter and has developed over twenty-five books for various clients. In addition to scholarship on the novel, his interests include the craft of fiction writing, the changing publishing landscape, and new reading technologies. He earned a Ph.D. and an M.A. from the University of North Texas, both in creative writing, and his dissertation, a historical novel, examined nonlinear narratives told in response to trauma. Born in Mississippi, he has spent over thirty years in Texas and studied writing at the University of Texas at Arlington. His current novel project, young adult speculative fiction, explores the 'other'ing that results from changing definitions of humanity and personhood. A former special education teacher and movie studio tour guide, he lives in Fort Worth with his wife, three sons, and far too many books.

Gabriel Cervantes, Book Review Editor

Gabriel CervantesGabriel Cervantes is an assistant professor of English at the University of North Texas and a review editor at Studies in the Novel. A specialist in eighteenth-century literature and culture, his published and forthcoming essays (ELH, Eighteenth-Century Fiction, The Eighteenth Century: Theory and Interpretation) focus on intersections—between law and literature as well as that between English-language literature and the history of the Atlantic world. He is currently completing a monograph on the cultural foundations of legal thought and practice in the eighteenth-century Anglo-Atlantic. With Geoffrey Sill (Rutgers-Camden), he is co-editor of Daniel Defoe’s The History and Remarkable Life of the Truly Honourable Col. Jacques, Commonly Called Col. Jack, which is forthcoming from Broadview Press. Dr. Cervantes grew up in New York City and earned his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 2009. 

Nora Gilbert, Book Review Editor

Nora GilbertNora Gilbert is an assistant professor of English at the University of North Texas who specializes in the areas of Victorian literature and early Hollywood film, with particular research interests in gender studies and the intersection of law and culture. She is the author of Better Left Unsaid: Victorian Novels, Hays Code Films, and the Benefits of Censorship (Stanford University Press, 2013), and has articles published or forthcoming in PMLA, Film & History, and Nineteenth-Century Literature. She is currently at work on two book projects: the first, provisionally titled Unwomaned: Hollywood Stardom and the Threat of Female Independence, charts the historical anxiety that was engendered by the wide-scale migration of young, aspiring women to Los Angeles during the classical Hollywood era and the ways in which the films of the era could be seen to document and respond to that anxiety; the second is a narratological analysis of the “runaway woman” plot in fiction and film. Originally hailing from Philadelphia, Dr. Gilbert received her B.A. from Harvard University and her M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Southern California. When she is not teaching or researching, she enjoys chasing her three young sons around in circles and running very slow half marathons. She intends to pick up a real hobby just as soon as she earns tenure.


Advisory Editors

Paula R. Backscheider, Auburn University
Nancy Bentley, University of Pennsylvania
Daphne Brooks, Yale University
Gregg Crane, University of Michigan
Gaurav Desai, University of Michigan
Annette R. Federico, James Madison University
Nouri Gana, University of California, Los Angeles
Priyamvada Gopal, Cambridge University
Evan GottliebOregon State University
Dorothy J. Hale, University of California, Berkeley
Diane Long Hoeveler, Marquette University
Amy Hungerford,Yale University
David Kurnick, Rutgers University
Deidre Shauna Lynch, Harvard University
Anne K. Mellor, University of California, Los Angeles
Richard Menke, University of Georgia
Emad Mirmotahari, Duquesne University
Walton Muyumba, Indiana University Bloomington
Timothy Parrish, Virginia Tech
John G. Peters, University of North Texas
Albert J. Rivero, Marquette University
Clifford Siskin, New York University
Stephen Tabachnick, University of Memphis
Mark Wollaeger, Vanderbilt University
Ruth Bernard Yeazell, Yale University